About Us

Experience is important in any industry, but especially in ours. Our ability to delivery quality work is something we’ve honed for over a century.

Our History

In 1888, William Murphy started a contracting business specializing in commercial alterations and additions in center city Philadelphia. William was joined by his son, Wynne and after World War I ended, Wynne Murphy returned to the business, accompanied by his colleague Robert Quigley. The two eventually assumed joint ownership and management and in the early twenties, they changed the name to Murphy, Quigley Company.

 

In 1967, Robert Quigley II took the reins and the company began servicing clients nationally. Large housing projects in the northeast and construction management agreements with the United States Postal Service and ITT took them as far west as Omaha, Nebraska and as far south as New Orleans, Louisiana.

In 1978, Thomas Quigley, representing the third generation came on board, followed nine years later by his younger brother William Quigley. Thomas became president in 1991 upon the retirement of Robert II. Two years later William became vice president and the die was cast for the leadership of this venerable Philadelphia institution into the twenty first century.

 

Under the management of Tom and Bill, creating and maintaining relationships has continued to be the company’s foundation. On time and on budget projects for the region’s most discerning institutions and owners is evidence of administrative excellence and technical expertise at the highest level in the industry.

Owners

Thomas A. Quigley

Since 1978

t.quigley@mquigleyco.com

William I. Quigley

Since 1987

w.quigley@mquigleyco.com

Accounting

Anita Mahoney

Since 1995

a.mahoney@mquigleyco.com

Estimating / Project Management

John Milano

Since 2000

j.milano@mquigleyco.com

Richard McLarnon

Since 2002

r.mclarnon@mquigleyco.com

Christopher Salmon

Since 2006

c.salmon@mquigleyco.com

Nicholas Holz

Since 2017

n.holz@mquigleyco.com

We're always happy to take the time to answer your questions

Get in touch